Saturday, February 18, 2012

Field Level Security is not working!?!?

 

Few months back, one of my clients reported an issue with the field level security module in Dynamics GP that it only works for “Sa”, and this morning I noticed a question in the community reminding me to post about this issue! Below are the circumstances:

1. Only the sa user can see the module on GP even by giving the power user to other users.

2. The restrictions made on the field level security module are applied only to sa user.

Solution clearly shows that this is not an issue with the application and it is an issue with database privileges, simply go to “C:\Program Files\Microsoft Dynamics\GP2010\SQL\Util” and locate a script called “Grant.SQL”, the script will grant the DYNGRP role in SQL the access on all objects in the database and will resolve your issue, below the script if needed:

/*Count : 1 */

declare @cStatement varchar(255)

declare G_cursor CURSOR for select 'grant select,update,insert,delete on [' + convert(varchar(64),name) + '] to DYNGRP' from sysobjects
where (type = 'U' or type = 'V') and uid = 1

set nocount on
OPEN
G_cursor
FETCH NEXT FROM G_cursor INTO @cStatement
WHILE (@@FETCH_STATUS <> -1)
begin
EXEC
(@cStatement)
FETCH NEXT FROM G_cursor INTO @cStatement
end
DEALLOCATE
G_cursor

declare G_cursor CURSOR for select 'grant execute on [' + convert(varchar(64),name) + '] to DYNGRP' from sysobjects
where type = 'P'

set nocount on
OPEN
G_cursor
FETCH NEXT FROM G_cursor INTO @cStatement
WHILE (@@FETCH_STATUS <> -1)
begin
EXEC
(@cStatement)
FETCH NEXT FROM G_cursor INTO @cStatement
end
DEALLOCATE
G_cursor




Regards,
--
Mohammad R. Daoud MVP - MCT
MCP, MCBMSP, MCTS, MCBMSS
+962 - 79 - 999 65 85
me@mohdaoud.com
www.mohdaoud.com

3 comments:

Anonymous said...

Thanks for the info

Colleen Murphy said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Colleen Murphy said...

I've set Field Level Security to disable a Delete button in the Electronic Reconcile Maint window for 2 classes. All looks good in the security window, but the Delete button is still available for the user. Would your solution above be relevant for my problem?

Related Posts:

Related Posts with Thumbnails